Wednesday, July 17, 2024
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Joe Ryan — obituary

RYAN, Joe (Retired Ottawa Hydro) With broken hearts, the...

Answers to Diana’s Quiz – July 13, 2024

by Diana Filer 1.  Ammunition is now available...

The Skinny Shirt at the Hub

Reflections from the Swamp Dear Reader Most of us...
LivingHealthMeet the Almonte General Hospital/Fairview Manor Board of Directors

Meet the Almonte General Hospital/Fairview Manor Board of Directors

by Susan Hanna

Agh_fm_tm_col logo

The Almonte General Hospital/Fairview Manor (AGH/FVM) is governed by a strong, active Board of Directors drawn from our community.

The Board has 12 elected members and four non-voting members, appointed under the Public Hospitals Act, and one Honorary Director. The elected members can serve a maximum of three, three-year terms and the terms are staggered to ensure continuity on the board. Here are the members of the 2011-12 Board of Directors.

Dr. Thomas Todd, Board Chair – Dr. Todd joined the Board in 2005 and became Board Chair in June 2011. An Almonte resident, Dr. Todd is the Director of Physician Consulting Services for the Canadian Medical Protective Association.

Paul Virgin, Vice-Chair – Mr. Virgin, a financial advisor, joined the Board in 2006. An Almonte resident, Mr. Virgin chairs the Quality and Risk Management Committee.

Carol Bean, Honorary Director – Mrs. Bean is immediate Past Chair of the Board. A retired Registered Nurse, Mrs. Bean joined the Board in 2000. The Pakenham resident chairs the Governance and Nominating Committee.

Lucy Brown – Mrs. Brown, who is a domestic engineer, joined the Board in 2011. She lives in Almonte.

Donna Brown – An Almonte resident, Mrs. Brown is a consultant. She sat on the Board from 2004-10 and rejoined the Board in 2011.

David Gomme – A retired Certified Management Accountant, Mr. Gomme joined the Board in 2010. He lives in Almonte.

Sue Hamilton – An information technology professional, Mrs. Hamilton joined the Board in 2011. She lives in Almonte.

Gary Hannah – Mr. Hannah, who lives in Gloucester, is the founder and co-owner of Vocantas Inc. in Kanata. He joined the Board in 2011.

Jacqueline Kirkland – A Nurse Practitioner, Mrs. Kirkland joined the Board in 2011. She lives in Almonte.

Susan Muston – An Almonte resident, Mrs. Muston joined the Board in 2011. A software test engineer, Mrs. Muston chairs the Board’s Finance and Audit Committee.

Betty Preston – Retired Pharmacist Betty Preston joined the Board in 2008. She lives in Almonte.

Rhonda Tees – A retired marketing/communications executive, Mrs. Tees joined the Board in 2009. The Pakenham resident chairs the Human Resources Committee.

Chris Van Barr – A Kinburn resident, Mr. Van Barr co-leads Gowlings Intellectual Property Litigation National Practice Group. He joined the Board in 2011.

The Board’s four non-voting members are AGH/FVM President and CEO Mary Wilson Trider, Chief of Staff Dr. Anne Oldfield, President of the Medical Staff Association Dr. Heather Abramenko and Vice President, Patient and Resident Services and Chief Nursing Officer Donna Leafloor.







From the Archives