Almonte Jr Sharpshooters captured the first-ever CPJHL Junior Championship in dramatic fashion the weekend of March 19, 2017.

Against many obstacles, including having to play four games in 24 hours, last minute schedule changes, and the fact that all their final games were scheduled away from home, in Port Carling, Muskoka and Coldwater.

The Sharpshooters, led by their Captain Austin Lamont and solid goaltending by Zachary Mills, won it with an overtime victory by the score of 4-3 over the Muskoka Wild. The winning overtime goal was scored by Thomas Leggett. The Sharpshooters would like to thank the Town of Almonte and everyone in the community of Mississippi Mills, its fans, and its sponsors for their support — without which the 2016-2017 season would not have been possible.

Team Members: Charles Mills (Head Coach), Angelo Gallo (Assistant Coach), Patrick Paquette (Assistant Coach), Jeff Drost (Assistant Coach), John Dempster (Assistant Coach)
Goalies: Zachary Mills, Jean Marc Brisson

Defencemen: Josh Mills, Jordan Brennan, Dylan Adrain, Kody Barber, Thomas Leggett, Justin Hawthur, Nick Warren

Forwards: Austin Lamont, Doug Moar, Dylan Lavallee, Aaron Gregoire, Travis Yach, Chris Payette, Fergus Pearson, Jack Shaver, Cameron Scrivens, Connor Drost, Brandon Paquette, Nick Dempster, Samuel Hudon

Players who could not make the trip: Dominic Ranger, Warren Beach, Tristan Lemaire, Cameron Mcfee, Noah Edmonds, Karol Krotki, Connor Hewitt, Andrew Hudson