Thursday, December 8, 2022
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

A moment of peace at St. Paul’s — December 14

BE STILL MY SOUL Come and rest in...

Sheet Pan Chicken with Lemon and Olives

by Susan Hanna This recipe from Bonnie Stern’s...

November Nature Talk: Flying Squirrels

Contributed by Chris Baburek The subject of the...
SportsABC 40 K Perth Rd results, August 9, 2015

ABC 40 K Perth Rd results, August 9, 2015

Calah Wright (courtesy of Darlene Yee)
Calah Wright (courtesy of Darlene Yee)

Eighteen riders arrived at Franktown Christian Academy parking lot to 16 – 19C temperatures, only light northeasterly breezes, and sunny conditions.  All 18 riders finished.  Eight riders completed the course in less than one hour.

The fastest overall was Aaron Fillion in a time of 50:57, a new course record by 3 seconds better than his 2013 time.  Fastest female was Calah Wright (Eurosport) in a time of 57:42 for a season best and new course record for females. Kelly Knowles previously held this record with a time of 59:35 set in 2013.

Fastest male from ABC was Denis Mahoney in a time of 58:12, a time which includes re-installing a contact lens at the turn!  In all there were 4 season best (SB) times and 7 course best (CB) times, making this, the highest achieving result since this course has been used.

Good paved shoulders in both directions are now complete on this course. Because the marking at the turnaround was obliterated by the new paving, a new turnaround was marked using GPS with an attempt to hit a 40km distance on the head (many know that the version of the course used in May and June was 40.4km long).

Results are:

1.Aaron Fillion RwR             50:57 CB CR (men)
2.Mike Nash RwR                 53:51
3.Paul Datars OBC               55:48 CB
4.Jim Tsilemos RwR              56:35 CB
5.Calah Wright Eurosport        57:42 SB CR (women)
6.Denis Mahoney  ABC            58:12
7/Colin Campbell OBC            58:37
8.Graham Page  OBC              59:44 CB
9.Greg Christie                 60:00
10 Robert DeVidi OBC            61:13
11.Marc Champagne OBC           61:45
12.Emily Flynn  OBC             62:43
13.Russ Redshaw                 65:02 CB
14. Mike Coldwell ABC           65:35 SB CB
15. Sally Warner OBC            70:25
16. Mark Miller ABC             72:02  SB (tied with 2014 CB)
17.Les Humphreys ABC            73:27 SB
18. Greg Calnan ABC             74:05 CB>

Time keeper Anne-Marie Carter-McAuslan was ably assisted by Bob Woods at the start and finish and by Dave McAuslan and Bob Giles at the turnaround.




From the Archives