Thursday, December 1, 2022
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Craft sale to support Union Hall renovations, December 10

Union Hall renovations funded through craft sales, donations In...

Annual tree fundraiser launches just in time for Christmas shopping

Living trees and shrubs are the perfect...

Reader comments on AGH emergency department closure

Finally, Ontario’s crumbling patient-centred healthcare system has...
ArchivesLibrary board chair wins major award

Library board chair wins major award

On February 2, 2019, Mary Lou Souter, Chair of the Mississippi Mills Public Library Board, will be in Toronto to accept the Ontario Library Association’s (OLA) President’s Award for Exceptional Achievement.

According to the OLA, the President’s Award “acknowledges an outstanding action or contribution that has in a major or unique way enhanced or furthered librarianship in Ontario.” Recipients are chosen at the full discretion of the president of the OLA.  Current president Kerry Badgley explains his choice. “I believe that the award is a fitting way in which to acknowledge Mary Lou’s long and meaningful contributions to Ontario public libraries, especially the Mississippi Mills Public Library.”

Having served the Mississippi Mills Public Library for close to thirty years, “Mary Lou has earned this Award many times over,” said Monica Blackburn, Mississippi Mills Public Library Manager of Branch Services.

This award has a long list of impressive recipients. For example, Dr. Guy Berthiaume, the Librarian and Archivist of Canada, was the 2018 recipient of the President’s Award. “Mary Lou is following the Librarian and Archivist of Canada! This is truly putting Mississippi Mills Public Library on the map,” said Christine Row, CEO/Chief Librarian of the Mississippi Mills Public Library.

Library staff and board members will be in Toronto to celebrate this achievement.




From the Archives